Prelims Test series 2021-Nipurna..Marathon to LBSNAA. Click to Register New batch of Sampoorna - Integrated Civil Service Program starting form 1st September 2021. Enroll Here

Eligibility Criteria for Civil Services

Age & Attempt

  • Candidate must have attained a minimum age of 21 years to appear for the Civil Service Examination. The separate maximum age limit has been set for different reservation categories: 32 years for general category, 35 years for OBC and 37 years for SC and ST. There is extra relaxation in the disabled category.
  • The Union Public Services Commission added a new category of Economically Weaker Section (EWS) category in 2019 to provide reservation to the EWS candidates as mandated by the Government of India.

Category Maximum Age Limit No of Attempts Allowed
General 32 years 06 Attempts
Other Backwards Classes (OBC) 35 years (3 year relaxation) 09 Attempts
Economically Weaker Section(EWS) 32 Years (No Relaxation) 06 Attempts
Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe(SC/ST) 37 Years (5 Year Relaxation) Till the age limit
Physically Disabled Candidates(Blind, Deaf-Mute, Orthopedic) 42 Years (10 Year Relaxation) For General and OBC Candidates=09 attempts

For SC/ST Candidates=Unlimited till age limit


  1. The educational qualification required for this examination is Graduate in any discipline.
  2. There is no minimum percentage required in graduation.
  3. The only essential condition is that the graduate degree should be from a Government recognised University.
  4. Final Year Students are also eligible to appear for the Preliminary Examination however, they are supposed to submit proof of passing the requisite qualification along with Detailed Application Form (DAF) for Civil Services (Main) Examination


  1. The candidate must be a citizen of India to be eligible for the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) and the Indian Police Service (IPS), for other services, a candidate must be either:
  2. a citizen of India,
  3. or a subject of Nepal,
  4. or a subject of Bhutan,
  5. or a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India,
  6. or a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

Provided that a candidate belonging to categories (2) (3), (4), and (5) shall be a person in whose favour a certificate of eligibility has been issued by the Government of India. Provided further that candidates belonging to categories (2) (3), and (4) above will not be eligible for appointment to the Indian Foreign Service. A candidate, in whose case a certificate of eligibility is necessary, may be admitted to the examination but the offer of appointment may be given only after the necessary eligibility certificate has been issued to him by the Government of India. The citizens of Tibet's Refugee Families, Nepal, and Bhutan, along with Indian citizens, can apply in this examination, but for recruitment in IAS and IPS, the candidate must be a citizen of India. In this examination, people of Indian origin who are in different countries can also fill the form.